Trull Saplings Preschool Committee

The Committee

The Preschool is unlike any other business that most people work in, as there is an elected committee which can change every year.  They are responsible for the overall management and control of the Preschool and are also the charity trustees of the Preschool.  In addition, we also have a Business Manager who manages much of the day to day administrative, finance and HR duties.

Why should I care about the committee?

Our setting is ‘committee run’ by the parents.  Every year we hold our AGM in October when a new committee is elected.  We need a minimum of 5 committee members to be elected and the maximum number is 12.  The Committee must consist of a Chair, a Treasurer and a Secretary.  If we do not have enough parents involved as Committee Members, then the Preschool would not be allowed to carry on under its Constitution and would close.

The overriding duty of committee members is to act only in the interests of the group.  In order to do this they need to:

  • Find out all they can about the group and the way it runs 
  • Attend meetings regularly to share the thinking and decision making (about once every half term in the evenings) 
  • Be prepared to work with the other committee members to achieve the best possible support for the group they represent

If you would like more information about being a committee member, please email  Although the committee serves a serious role, it is also a great social opportunity and many friendships may be formed over the years.  Please note you will be required to undertake an enhanced DBS check and registration with Ofsted for this volunteer role.


The committee is also responsible for fundraising.  This enables us to purchase new toys and equipment for the children’s benefit.  Fundraising events take place throughout the year in the form of the Easter raffle, Christmas Fayre and a few smaller events such as Design a Tea Towel/Bag/Mug/Card. If you would like to get involved with the fundraising or have any ideas for fundraising activities and events, please email

Who are our current Committee Team?
Elected Members:
Chair: Rhys Davies
Treasurer: Jenny Sherphard
Secretary: David Saunders
Business Manager: Comfort Smithson
Supervisor & Safeguard Lead: Claire Lawrence
Unelected Members:  James Hannam, Zoe Morgan, Lucy Yeoman, Dominque Patterson, Francesca Copleston-Sykes,

For any queries relating to the Committee and the Preschool’s management, please contact us on:


Trull Saplings Preschool
Trull Community Centre
Church Road

Charity number: 1018745

Setting: 07577 777 323


You can donate to Trull Preschool via our JustGiving page:

Donate now via just giving