Guidance to the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum 2012

These are seven areas of learning and development that shape our curriculum:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children are supported in developing a positive sense of themselves and others, forming positive relationships and developing respect for others; developing social skills and learning how to manage their feelings; understanding appropriate behaviour and having confidence in their own abilities.

Communication and Language Development

Children are provided with opportunities to experience a rich language environment; developing the confidence and skills in expressing themselves; speaking and listening in a range of situations.

Physical Development

Providing opportunities for children to be active and interactive; developing their coordination, control and movement; helping children to understand the importance of physical activity and making healthy choices in relation to food.

Literacy Development

Encouraging children to link sound and letters and providing access to a wide range of resources such as books, poems and mark making materials to ignite their interest.


Providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers; calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; describing shapes, spaces and measures.

Understanding the World

Guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design

Enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as proving opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, design and technology.